Panda? Who?

I thought I’d take a minute to explain why my blog is named emilypanda, since I don’t have a panda themed background or any panda related posts. My favorite animal is the Red Panda, also known as the lesser panda.  You may think they sound mythical but they are completely real and even more adorable. They look like raccoons and can grow to the size of the average house cat. I decided to name my blog emilypanda because I love pandas, especially the Red Panda.

Red Panda sign on the Asia Trail at the DC National Zoo

Red Pandas live in China and share part of their territory with the Giant Panda. I’ve only seen Red Pandas eating bamboo but they do eat berries, blossoms, birds eggs and other plant leaves. Pandas take about 12 months to reach their adult size and once they are adults they like to live solitary lives. Finally, Red Pandas are endangered due to their loss of habitat and there are only about 2,500 Red Pandas left.

My favorite Red Panda is Tate, he resides at the DC National Zoo, I saw him last February when he first moved to DC from Jersey. I watched him for a good 20 minutes while he explored his new home and followed the lovely Sharma (whom he took a great liking to immediately). I hope to be back to DC in the near future to be able to visit Tate again!

Note: The below are pictures of Tate and his mate Sharma. Sharma has more White fur on her face if you wanted to tell the difference.

Tate and his new Ladyfriend

Panda Kiss

Panda Kiss

One response to “Panda? Who?

  1. Pingback: wearing today « The Lesser Panda

Leave a Reply

