Summer of September

For those of you who know me personally, I’m starting a new job this friday. I’ll be working on a primary campaign for a congressional race for the next couple months. I’m excited to work on this campaign because I back the candidate completely and it will be close to home! I don’t have to move to another state like last fall. I almost considered taking a position doing some campaign type work in North Dakota but it didn’t seem like a good fit. I lucked out and found something that feels good to me in a matter of days (from when my last job ended).

I’m excited to get back to work after this past month’s shenanigans but it was a very good month. I called it, the Summer of September. I spent most of the month just having tons of fun! I did some work for my parents, volunteered etc. But, most of the time, I just did whatever I wanted. It felt like a mini summer vacation. I took a couple road trips to Indiana, rode my bike, saw some of my friends, cooked a bunch, and played video games.

I’m going to miss sleeping in, watching football, seeing my friends whenever they wanted to see me and being in Indiana. My schedule is going to be rough, it’s going to be very similar to last fall, working 7 days and 12-16 hours each day. But I am going to still make time for myself. I didn’t do that before and I know it affected my mental and emotional health. I’ve got dvr so I can watch tv, sneak in a game at night, read before bed, going to most likely join a gym so I’ll be going there each morning before work and a cat that will share my bed with me each night. Simple things, but still important to help me stay sane and happy.

What do you guys do to keep yourself sane and happy with yourself? Are they simple too?

Leave a Reply

