robert pattinson in vanity fair

I was at Whole Foods the other day and I saw Robert Pattinson on the cover of Vanity Fair. I don’t typically subscribe to the mag, but there are articles that intrigue me in the magazine and the writing is usually decent. This Deceember issue of VF had R Pattz on the cover and I just had to have it.

I read the article on Robert this evening and I really enjoyed it. I don’t know much about Robert Pattinson except that I first saw him as Cedric Diggory in Harry Potter’s the Goblet of Fire. Although this past weekend I received my Harper’s Bazaar in the mail and I read the article with him and Kristen Stewart in it.

Anyways I wanted to share my favorite parts from the interview.

“What makes the lavish attention more awkward is that he believes he hasn’t done anything to deserve it—or any praise at all, for that matter. He usually doesn’t feel like talking to anyone, but silence makes him so uncomfortable that he ends up filling the air with “a load of rubbish” or just laughing nervously. He is often apologizing—for being boring, for the “douchey” terrace that’s attached to his hotel room, for telling you a story you might have read somewhere else already. When talking about seminal moments in his life, the main emotion he recalls is embarrassment. He’ll dismiss his work in any way he can. When roles have been difficult, he’ll say, “I had no idea what I was doing.” When roles have been easy, he says he didn’t have to do anything.”

“Yet as soon as he decided to put acting behind him, another role came his way and changed his mind again: a BBC thriller called The Haunted Airman, in which Pattinson got to be in a wheelchair and act like, yes, “a weirdo. I just changed my whole opinion about everything.” He then played two more weirdos back-to-back—first, eccentric Surrealist painter Salvador Dalí in the rather arch Little Ashes, about the romance between Dalí and poet Federico García Lorca; next, in a winning little comedy called How to Be, about a direction-less, spastic musician so in need of assistance that he pays a self-help guru to move in with him. He was starting to take his eccentric characters a little more seriously in both cases, feeling his way, as he had no real dramatic training.”

“In 2007 he learned that something called Twilight was being cast in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, and London, and he made a tape with one of his apartment-mates to send to the casting directors. “It looked so ridiculous I didn’t even send it,” says Pattinson, who forgot all about it and returned to his music.”

“Shooting could get downright giddy. In the vampire fight scenes, for example, Pattinson would gamely sink his teeth into the grilled chicken or melted cheese that co-star Cam Gigandet had hidden under his collar, and sometimes he had to be restrained from re-using the food once it had fallen onto the floor and was covered in dirt or glass shards.”

“In the meantime, evenings were spent in Pattinson’s hotel room, with Pattinson “always drunk,” says Hardwicke, and playing the guitar while Stewart and the other cast members watched and sang along. Something personally intense was developing between the young co-stars. “What Rob and Kristen had is a multitude of feelings for each other. Complex feelings for each other,” says Hardwicke. “It was what we needed. Complex, intense fascination.” It’s very likely that their offscreen relationship mirrored their on-screen one: an intense attraction that couldn’t be realized.”

“And now Pattinson is hawking his co-star like a desperate agent. “I don’t know where he got it,” he gushes of Lautner’s charm and knack for connecting with the fans. “He’s much better at doing it [than I am].… He’s completely handling it. I’m just freaking out all the time. I’m going to end up hitting people and stuff and looking like an idiot.” Someone else can be Leo. Pattinson will be Hugh Grant.”

 

All in all, I thought the article was interesting because it goes more into Robert’s past and into his personality/quirks etc. A lot of articles I see about him is all about his relationship with Kristin Stewart (Bella Swan). I don’t really care, I don’t think he’s extremely attractive, but he is interesting and I’m interested in seeing what he does next. If you haven’t already you should probably read the article, you can see it at Vanity Fair’s site, or buy the magazine, then you can have pics of R Pattz in real life.

You can read the full interview here.

Pictures were taken by Bruce Weber and are exclusive from Vanity Fair. Article excerpts are also from Vanity Fair. Written by Evgenia Peretz.

One response to “robert pattinson in vanity fair

  1. These excerpts do make more interested in him than I was before. I like the image of a really awkward/self-conscious person; it makes a lot of his other interviews and bad sound bytes, seem sensible…

Leave a Reply

