new years resolutions 2010

it’s time to do new years resolutions, and time to do it right.

  1. learn to cook
  2. live on a budget
  3. save money
  4. read more books
  5. travel more

Some of these will be easier than others, some of them will really require discipline, but in the end I think that each resolution pushes me to a more positive future.

Learning to really cook, expand my basics into more complex (not to mention more yummy) recipes is going to make my stomach, tastebuds and houseguests very happy. To accomplish this, I’m simply going to pick a cookbook, and cook each and every recipe in the book! I wouldn’t say that I will master each recipe, but cooking every recipe in a book is pretty bad ass.

Living on a budget is so crucial no matter where you are in life or how much money you have. At times, it will take a lot of discipline to not just buy random extras like a coffee here and there, but in the end I will feel more secure financially and relieved mentally.

Saving money is part of the budgeting, but it’s also to help me be ready for anything that can happen in the future. Not only do I want to make some large(r) purchases in the near future, I want to have money saved up in case of an emergency. I know we are supposed to be getting out of the recession but who know what is in store for our futures? I also just like knowing I have money saved somewhere, just like living on a budget I feel secure financially and relieved mentally.

Reading more books has always always always been on my to do list. It’s been hard to make happen, but I just feel like time is passing me by and I’m not reading enough. I think it’s important to be well read, not only do you learn a lot (guess that depends on what you read..) but you can escape to a world you would never knew about. Sometimes it’s really good to get away from reality.

Lastly, I want to be travel more. I want to see the world! That will take my whole lifetime to accomplish, but for now traveling more is a simple way to move towards that. I’m planning on going to San Diego this February, Colorado in March and Hong Kong in September. I think I’ll definitely be able to make this happen as long as these trips don’t get cancelled!

2 responses to “new years resolutions 2010

  1. I’m going to try and budget better this year, too, but it’s so hard…

  2. Don’t forget we’re going to visit Julian in Iowa…talk about exciting places.

Leave a Reply

