memorial day dim sum

Every holiday my parents have off, we try to go down to Chinatown for Dim Sum. It’s a tradition that started a long time ago, when my grandmother was still alive. We used to try to see her as much as possible, and it was one of our traditions. It’s been a few years since she has passed, but knowing my grandma and her love for food, she is probably overjoyed that I am spending time with my family and eating the very food she would have shared with us.

I actually posted about dim sum earlier this year when I went and had some with the bf. So if you want to know more about it, follow the link! One thing I must add is that dim sum is not for vegetarians, I don’t know many dim sum dishes that can be enjoyed by the non-meating friends I have, so if you also do not I don’t really recommend it!

Case in point: Beef Tripe

Wow, posting the photos to this post is making me really hungry, and I shouldn’t be eating at this time of night!

Dishes, in order of photos: beef tripe, ja leung (fried dough with rice crepes around it), shu mai (pork and shrimp dumpling), ha gao (shrimp dumpling), black bean spare ribs, chicken feet, fried taro, egg custard tart and shrimp crepes.

4 responses to “memorial day dim sum

  1. Mmmm. Nom nom nom dim sum!

  2. I’ve never eaten dim sum, I really really must try it soon!!!!!
    If you have the time, come check out my blog, I think you’ll like it :)) Also, there’s a giveaway going on at my blog now, I hope you join :))

    giveaway: http://fraupixiedust.blogspot.com/2010/05/my-first-giveaway-make-up.html

    Have a great day hon :))

  3. Looks delicious! And GREAT photography skills!

    So glad I found your blog, and can’t wait to keep reading.

  4. Love shu mai.
    Yes, great pics. They really do make me hungry too.
    Love dimsum too!

    Yay!

Leave a Reply

