the publican

If you read my blog regularly ( I know there are a few of you out there) you have noticed that I am blogging way less, have dropped out of the 30 for 30 challenge, and haven’t been posting outfit posts. Currently, I am getting ready to move across the country to the east coast… seeing friends, packing up all my stuff.. that’s basically all I have been doing. So, to keep you in the loop with me, this week I’m going to be posting about some of the food I have been enjoying before I leave.

I’m hoping when I get to DC and I will find the time to A. dress myself properly B. take the time to take outfit photos and C. post ’em on the blog! I’m also going to have to catch up on blog reading/commenting when things settle down. I will still be furiously tweeting if you follow me, you probably should and let me know so I can follow you back!

Anyways onto the true purpose of my post. My review of the Publican.

The Publican is a restaurant located at 837 W. Fulton Street in Chicago. I honestly don’t know too much about the history of it, but I had heard from friends who have eaten there, that it was pretty good. I went with a friend, and we randomly chose it while walking around the west side. To be honest, EVERYTHING on the menu looked tasty, if you want you should go to their website and download it. They change it pretty frequently, when we arrived for dinner, they hadn’t printed out their dinner menus yet so we had to wait for a bit for it.

I didn’t get a good photo of the restaurant, but the seating was interesting. The tables we all around the edges of the room, and the middle area had high tables for the waiting area. Interesting use of the space, but I had nothing to complain about, we were seated immediately.

Onto the food. We ordered the little gem salad, which I was a little weary of because the ingredients included pig ears, basil, radishes and a buttermilk vinaigrette. I didn’t even know what pig ears were! But when they came, I (sorry I didn’t take a photo of the salad) it was a fried “pig ear” which was super tasty. The salad was heavily covered in the buttermilk vinaigrette, but it was so light, it didn’t drench the salad and was perfect with the radishes and basil. I highly recommend getting the little gem salad, I would love to make my own buttermilk vinaigrette…

Our entrees were Suckling Pig.

And the bolito misto.

In a nutshell, both dishes were delicious. If you love meat, I think that these two (for a meatlover like me) were the perfect choices. I actually ate a lot of the vegetables in the bolito misto, they went very well with the italian sausage and pork. I think the turkey was a little boring, but I’m not the biggest fan of turkey. The suckling pig came with a mini pork chop, which was super cute, but also super tasty.

I’d say the restaurant had good service, (my napkin was folded for me when I came back from the washroom…) and the food was good. If you are a vegetarian, I wouldn’t recommend publican, there are so many meat dishes to enjoy, I don’t think you would get your moneys worth. I don’t think I could afford to go to the Publican often, but I’d love to go again and try more of their menu. I am looking forward to coming during a different season and seeing what their offerings are like. All in all, I give the Publican a 4/4.

5 responses to “the publican

  1. Good luck with the move! Sounds like a lot of fun and a lot of stress, but good for you! Lookiing forward to seeing more of your outfits but in the meantime, food looks YUM!!

  2. Everything looks DElicious! Good Luck with your move darlin’!

    xo Lynzy
    http://fromskirtstoskillets.blogspot.com

  3. good luck with your move! it sounds stressful right now but it’s exciting to have a big change.

  4. oh my, suckling pig…yummm! food looks fantastic.

  5. It’s okay – life > blog, no matter what we want to think 😀 Good luck with the move! That looks absolutely delish!

Leave a Reply

